The Streets Share Official Video For New Single ‘I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him’ feat. Donae’o & Greentea Peng

Taken From The Mixtape ‘None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive’
Featuring Idles, Hak Baker, Ms Banks + Many More Out 10th July On Island Records

Mike Skinner has shared the official video to his new single ‘I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him ft. Donae’o & Greentea Peng‘ – the second track from his forthcoming mixtape None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive. Made entirely by Mike himself, the video is a multi-faceted visual shot with an unmistakably British backdrop, featuring the two artists with whom he wrote the single.

He says, “This video took me 6 weeks to make! I learned a new skill on this lockdown”. Previously talking about the track, which premiered as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record on BBC Radio 1, Mike explained, “This is a summer club song. Knowing that Donae’o is the king of UK Funky music – match made in heaven.  Greentea Peng was the perfect foil for this, her melodies are unique and she’s wicked“.  

The original plan had been to release a TONGA album (the balloon filled rap, grime and dubstep party by Mike and Murkage Dave, which had been a series of shoobs to remember). Copenhagen to Manchester to Berlin. Brum to Brixton. Usually arriving with a coterie of legendary UK figureheads and gobby upcomers in tow, like Kano, GiggsJammer or Jaykae, the pulsating essence of the nights needed to be immortalised.  But as night moved to day, and day moved along to night, it… just didn’t happen. Instead, a new mixtape None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive steps up to take its place.

Recorded between work on the accompanying film to The Streets new album, it is the unpredictable sonic continuation of those parties. Taking in UK Funky and twilight zone UK rap, and with guest spots ranging from Grammy nominated psychedelia sovereign Tame Impala to cult south London rapper Jesse James Solomon, as well as 2019’s key-fiend-friendly drum’n’bass collab with Chris LorenzoNone Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive is the most eclectic and highly collaborative collection of songs from The Streets yet. Or as Mike puts it with characteristic distinction: “it’s really just a rap duets album.”

The inclusion of, say, Mercury Prize nominated punk group IDLES (who perform what Mike describes as a sea-shanty tinged track inspired by an overnight ferry to Dover) and teenage wünderkind Jimothy Lacoste help ground things firmly in the here and now. But there are familiar faces of the past too. Birmingham legend, Dapz On The Map, pops up on merky rap track ‘Phone Is Always In My Hand‘. While Rob Harvey, previously of The Music and Skinner collaboration The D.O.T, tunes into pensive penultimate track ‘Conspiracy Theory Freestyle’.

Full track listing and featured artists detailed below: 
1. Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better (ft. Tame Impala)
2. None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive (ft. IDLES)
3. I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him (ft. Donae’o and Greentea Peng)
4. You Can’t Afford Me (ft. Ms Banks)
5. I Know Something You Did (ft. Jesse James Solomon)
6. Eskimo Ice (ft. Kasien)
7. Phone Is Always In My Hand (ft. Dapz on the Map)
8. The Poison I Take Hoping You Will Suffer (ft. Oscar #Worldpeace)
9. Same Direction (ft. Jimothy Lacoste)
10. Falling Down (ft. Hak Baker)
11. Conspiracy Theory Freestyle (ft. Rob Harvey)
12. Take Me As I Am (with Chris Lorenzo) 

None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive will be released via Island on 10th July and is available for pre-order here.

None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Life Alive – mixtape out 17th April – pre-order
Call My Phone Thinking I’m Doing Nothing Better ft. Tame Impala – single out now
Where The F*&k Did April Go – b-side single out now
I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him ft. Donae’o & Greentea Peng – single out now

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter


Spread the love

Manchester MC Aitch Drops New Single ‘Raw’ 🥩

After a dormant few months, Mancunian rap powerhouse Aitch has floored fans with impactful new offering ‘Raw’. The freestyle lands in the wake of his chart-topping collaborative single ‘Rain’ with AJ Tracey x Tay Keith – which is still in the UK Top 20 weeks later and on the verge of platinum status. Aitch will perform the track this weekend at BBC Radio 1’s first virtual Big Weekend, featuring sets from YUNGBLUD, Rex Orange County, HAIM and more.

A reminder of Aitch’s lyrical prowess and versatility, ‘Raw’ sees the 20-year-old talent spitting his way through a declaration of confidence and truth – a recap of his success so far. The single, produced by Whyjay and Sangy, is accompanied by a dark and moody visual (directed by KC Locke) – watch below. It’s a mission statement from the young rapper, who is hailed one of the most exciting talents in the UK right now: “Young Aitch, Big Boss, I’m The Captain.”

Adapting his trademark flow to any beat, Aitch is undoubtedly one of the biggest success stories of the last year. Covering The Guardian Guide last month, and garnering support from the likes of NME, GQ, Vogue, Clash and beyond, Aitch is on the rise – even Stormzy and Ed Sheeran are fans. Debut offering ‘Straight Rhymez’ has garnered more than 19 million views, credited as the video that propelled the then-teenage Aitch, into the limelight.

Since then, Aitch has gone on to make his mark globally – he is YouTube’s ‘Artist On The Rise’, has a Brit Award nomination under his belt and a Global Award win for ‘Best New Artist’. His video for single ‘Taste (Make It Shake)’ has accrued 28M views, and at one point he even featured on four songs in the UK Official Chart at one time. A keen collaborator and integral part of the UK Rap Scene, Aitch has seen huge success with his features on Young T and Bugsey ‘Strike Me A Pose’, Russ x Tion Wayne ‘Kesha Becky (Remix)’, Ed Sheeran ‘Take Me Back To London’ and more recently, alongside DigDat on ‘Ei8ht Mile’.


Spread the love